Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programmes ( for example working for a charity, improving the neighbourhood or teaching sports to younger children)

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is sometimes argued that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of education initiatives in high school. Although this is true to some extent, it is my belief that they are more likely to have a harmful impact.

Clearly, there are various reasons why high school should be forced to do unpaid community activities as a part of their studying programmes such as supporting local charities. Firstly, students can make a positive contribution to society. This is highly beneficial, particularly for bullies who are able not to understand the value of kindness. Secondly, working on a volunteer basis can bring them valuable soft skills. For example, students have the ability to learn how to cook, helping people within the community by naturally. At the same time, they have opportunity to more understand themselves.

However, I would agree that these benefits are outweighed by the drawbacks. On an individual level, students are already under enough pressure with their studies such as they do homework and exam revision on top of attending lesson everyday and if they add to do unpaid work as an obligatory schooling, then they will be suffering from stress. From the social point of view, society has anything to gain from obliging young people to do unpaid work. This is because when students are forced to do unpaid work, they will feel resentment and not relish so they may do this involuntarily

In conclusion, high school should give the added volunteer work for learner, but in my opinion we should not make this compulsory.