Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programmes (for example working for a charity, improving the neighbourhood or teaching sports to younger children).

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In some countries, high school students have to do extracurricular activities in the community without getting paid. These involve a range of tasks from making a better environment to developing youngsters’ interest in sports. For me, it is obvious that these community services are absolutely necessary as a part of high school curriculum, and the reasons for that will be addressed in this essay.

First of all, high school student life is, in fact, a phase of transition from today’s youths into tomorrow’s adults. Being an adult means not only growing old but also taking responsibilities so the students should be given chances to explore the real world by involving themselves in community services like working for a charity, helping elderly people and so on. By doing so, there will be advantages for both the society and them. For example, they will learn how to lead an organization, how to work with a team and what it is like to take responsibilities. Therefore, it is reasonable that they ought to work for community for the outcomes mentioned above in spite of no payment.

Secondly, it is probable that these young people will come to know about the waypoints to their dreams during the training. In other words, they will know themselves better, shaping their own future. For instance, a student who finds himself good at teaching will decide later to become a teacher. Likewise, a student who does not fancy taking care of other people will not join medical profession which will, otherwise, make his career life miserable. As a result, their uncertainties will become less when the time comes for them to choose universities or careers.

To conclude, I strongly agree that community service should be compulsory for high school students to transform into not only responsible adults but also confident leaders of tomorrow.