SOME PEOPLE BELIEVE THAT UNPAID COMMUNITY SERVICE SHOULD BE A COMPULSORY PAR OF HIGH SCHOOL PROGRAMMES (FOR EXAMPLE WORKING FOR CHARITY, IMPROVING THE NEIGHBOURHOOD OR TEACHING SPORT TO YOUNGER CHILDERN). TO WHAT EXTENT DO YOU AGREE OR DISAGREE?

To start with, I believe it is utmost important for high school students to get themselves involve in some voluntarily work. Firstly, they are at the perfect age to learn some valuable life skills. Most probably, after completing high school, adolescents might look for jobs or further education and there they need these skill to use rather to learn. Therefore, if upper schools make them to involve in some kinds for social work they learn the skills like how to communicate constructively at work or to understand other people emotions to gel with people. For example, according to a survey published in The Guardian, the schools who teach young adults these soft skills are more comfortable in their job interviews and can secure a decent job after graduation. I concede it might frustrate some tudents to work without money, however, getting a well paid job for the rest of life is worth more than few hours of unpaid work.

In addition to above, I would say, the high schoolers are more vulnerable among other school groups. They carried themselves away into inappropriate activities quickly, if they are not physically and mentally engaged. For high schools, the only best possible way to get them out from a bad circle is by making them engage into community services, because that’s where they come across to hard realities of life. Off course, it is the responsibility of the school to find which social work is best for an individual students. For example by sending a young adult to work few hours every week at food banks can make them realize the importance of food/money. Likewise, to make them help at homeless shelter, realise the worth of home. Yet some find this work forceful but I am fully convinced that by making it compulsory, schools not only have saved many teenagers from choosing some dark paths but also help communities in their noble causes.

To sum up, without any doubt, these volunteering programmes not only help students to secure a good job but also can be used as a strong tool to bring vulnerable students out of dangerous paths. Therefore, I would say all high schools should adopt these programmes in their curriculum to make their students a valuable part of the society.