Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programmes (for example working for a charity, improving the neighborhood or teaching sports to younger children).To what extent do you agree or disagree?

At the moment voluntary work is not a compulsory part of the secondary education curriculum, many in society feel it should be a mandatory part of the high school experience. This issue will be discussed further in favor of this view, outlining the benefits and it can help students in the future.

Most students only think about community service when applying for university to make their application stand out. Therefore this has given a skewed view of such work as only being needed temporarily before starting university. If it was introduced into young peoples’ lives earlier and became a part of the syllabus, they would be able to enjoy the benefits of helping others and contributing to the community. Personally when I worked at my local Cancer Research charity shop, I was able to see how much work and organisation is needed for one shop, the valuable service it was providing to the local area was immense and to be able to part of that was rewarding.

As they enter into the work force, the skills they gained in their youth from voluntary work can be instrumental in helping them gain the career they want. They will be familiar with working with people as a team, being able to manage their time properly and have a healthy work ethic. Furthermore potential employers look generously towards applicants who have such work experience and more likely to hire.

Unpaid voluntary work has many advantages for teenagers in their future, by having them be a part of their school life will give them more incentive to do them rather than just for show on their university application. As they become more familiar with such work from a young age they would be more likely to reap the awards for such behaviour.