Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programmes (for example working for a charity, improving the neighborhood or teaching sports to younger children).To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The curriculum of high schools is expected to include mandatory unpaid social works. I completely agree to the point that this would ensure students be placed in prestigious universities and also let them learn about certain social issues.

Firstly, the tag of voluntary community works during high school in college application makes it to stand out. This is because of saturation of the application forms with good academic scores despite filtering through multiple criteria, and that is the reason universities have chosen to admit students with unique achievement like unpaid social activities, be it teaching in kindergarten class or assisting local health workers. Lately, Oxford University, for instance, have welcomed applications from students who volunteered in 2015 London earthquake’s post-disaster epidemic control programmes. Since the aim of school education is to secure admission in a college, schools must play by the changing rules of it.

Secondly, community service also helps them to understand and solve the problems their community face. High school pupils have the maturity and energy to learn about their surroundings and work for it. This is supported by a study conducted by Cambridge, in which they claim that adolescents who are exposed to problems, find solutions faster than any other age group. Hence, students of teenage groups must be indulged with community works by their schools.

To conclude, it is expected of high schools to make students free-lance in community works. Not only will it be beneficial in fetching admission in a top university but also expands the knowledge of the students about their society.