Nowadays families are not as close as they used to be.

What do you think are the causes of this?

What can be done to make families closer?

The closeness between families has reduced greatly compared to the past. Lack of time due to busy work schedule and preference for privacy are the two main reasons. At the same, allocating some time for family get-togethers tend to make families to interact with one another.

First and foremost reason is unavailability of time. Almost everyone is employed today and the only time they get apart from work is weekends since the afterwork hours of weekdays are often spent within family members and in taking rest. Considering the weekends, people prefer spending those days for themselves privately, be it watching a film or doing an activity related to their hobby and so on. Privacy plays the important role next to time deficiency. For instance, in the life of a middle class family, parents would be busy working in weekdays and concentrating on their childrens activity during weekends sparing no time fo communicating to the outside. Consequently, isolating them from others in the meantime.

One and only way to bring families closer is families get-togethers. A proper time should be allocated to meet and mingle with relatives, may be during festive occasions or anyother ceremonies. While being together relationships will be strengthened, new family bonds will be created, and problems will be sorted out. For example, unmaaried people may get a chance to meet their spouse in family gatherings, and thereby increasing the family network. Therefore, family meeting must be organised, whenever possible.

To conclude, families lost their closeness lately due to lack of free time and privacy; however, family get-togethers have clarly proven to unite famiies.