In Britain, when someone gets old they often go to live in a home with other old people where there are nurses to look after them. Sometimes the government has to pay for this care.

Who do you think should pay for this care, the government or the family?

In the UK, old people tend to spend the last years of their lives in old age homes that have nurses to take care of them and at times the government was made to pay for this facility. In my opinion, not only has the government is responsible to pay for this care but also the family to which the old members belong.

Families have the moral responsibility to pay for the care received by the old members of theirs. Since the context of old age care’s resposibilty is restricted to the rich country Great Britain, most of the english families are well off to take care of the ageing members. Moreover, being busy at personal works makes younger generation unable to spend time with and take of the older generation and thus, forcing the elders to search of caring homes. The Times has reported that 90% of aged population in Rugby, UK old agee homes comes from rich background. Therefore, these families cannot rely on the government when they can afford.

At the same time, not all the families of the UK are rich, some proportion lives below the poverty line. In this case, the government should shoulder the care of the old age members, as it is impossoble for these poverty striken families to sustain with high cost old age care. In 1990, 80% of the aged people in the slums of London died sooner than the national’s average age, as the british government stopped subsidizing their care. This horrid incident reiterated the moral role of the government in taking care of it elderly citizens.

To conclude, Majority of british citizens prefer to live in old age homes as they grow old, and the cost of this is being paid subsidized by the government in some cases. I believethat the family must pay for its members if it can afford, but in the case of poor family, the government should offer some financial help.