Some people believe that zoos where animals are kept in a man-made

environment should no longer exist in the 21st century. To what extent do you

agree or disagree?

Many people argue that zoos, where creatures are contained in artificial enclosures, should be banned in this century. This essay totally agrees with this statement because it is cruel to keep an animal in a confined space, and nature programs allow us to view animals without the need for a zoo.

Animals living in captivity are held by metal chains in cages which symbolizes their dependence. Besides, many are exploited to serve visitors for recreational activities such as dancing and carrying. For example, there are some zoos in Vietnam taking advantage of elephants as a lucrative tool to make a profit. They are trained to carry a great deal of people around many times all day long, which is so exhausting that some died during their work.

Another thing is that today, viewers can discover wild animal life just through a screen that is real, more vivid, and full of interesting information. Specifically, cameras are hidden around animals to capture their daily routines, or adventurers spend a long period taking moments that people are unable to sightsee for a short time at zoos. National Geographic is one of the most famous channels illustrating animal lives authentically with their sharp scenes. They once launched a documentary of bird and tuna migrations or polar bear hibernation which takes years to record.