Some people choose to have their first child at an older age. What are the reasons? Do advantages outweigh disadvantages?

There are two main factors leading to the decision of delaying childbirth. The first one is because people have the propensity for prioritizing their careers over taking parental roles. Especially in the US and other developed countries, not only men but also women want to stabilize their finance before becoming parents so as to provide their kids with sufficient living condition for their future development. Another explanation for this is that many modern individuals have adopted a fear of taking unwanted custody due to the recent alarming rate of divorce. It is because premature marriages have become common, which usually goes with many couples’ doubt of their marital harmony, deterring their early desire for raising a child. There would be, consequently, fewer kids growing up without fatherhood or motherhood.

However, the drawbacks should not be overlooked. That too many couples following such a trend might exert adverse effects on the population structure, which potentially results in the future aging workforce and hinders social development in the long term. Additionally, it could both heighten the possibility of infertility among mothers at their old age and risk the new-born babies’ mental and physical health. Down Syndrome could be a typical example of the problems that those kids might have to suffer from.

In conclusion, the occupational prioritization and the hesitation over the likelihood of single-parent responsibility could be seen as the root of late childbirth, and I am convinced that the advantages are of more significance.