Some people claim that museums and art galleries are not needed today, because everyone can see historical objects or art works by computer. Do you agree or disagree?

There are opinions among certain people in this day and age whether the existence of museums and art galleries brings particular benefits since it is considered unimportant, and if needed, people can look up for historical objects by computers. Although this is partly true in the current high-tech era where most of the information can be found on the Internet worldwide, having places to retain such precious materials like museums and galleries is, I believe, part of the humanity’s history and culture.

As industrialization and modernization are taking place throughout the world, it is obvious that the Internet is more dominant in information-storing, particularly historic events centuries ago. People do not have to winkle out the details by scouring in bookstores or libraries like they have once done in the past; now with just several keywords and a million results would appear directly on their screen. This turns out to be a tendency in terms of its convenience and time-saving among the society, which not only the masses but also historians can make use of these merits.

Museums and also art galleries, on the other hand, provide realistic plus esthetic artifacts and paintings of which visitors can take their own pictures, distinct from what they have seen through the Internet. Furthermore, these places involve more meticulous descriptions and facts of remarkable events dating to the past than what people see on their computers. Probably due to these incentives that many people choose these historical sites to be their places of interest, as a result, entails them to form a thorough understanding and a multidimensional view of the essence from the minor to the most siginificant parts of the humanity’s history. The traditions and cultures through generations are then prone to be carried out, subsequently. Even though it is quite costly for national and local authorities to provide funding for museums and galleries to remain active, the disappearance of these sites would be an immense loss to the world.

To recapitulate, I find it is worth to allocate resources to keep these cultural facilities open, regarded as retaining our culture. Nevertheless, the importance of these places are becoming blurred, government should therefore incentivize the residents to be aware of the world history but latter their present lives, all gathered in these wonderful public collections.