Some people claim that not enough of the waste from homes is recycled. They say that the only way to increase recycling is for governments to make it a legal requirement.

To what extent do you think laws are needed to make people recycle more of their waste?

Waste recycling is one of the most effective ways to protect the environment and reduce the amount of waste. Unfortunately, many people do not take part in this mission. In this case, a legal requirement to reserve the waste for recycling can be very helpful though it has some issues.

A legal requirement to take part in the waste recycling process provokes the people to reserve the waste instead of throwing it elsewhere. Although there have been many campaigns in the world to make the people understand the benefits of the waste recycling system, we still throw recyclable garbage elsewhere and thus environment is affected. Governments can never succeed in this project alone without the strong participation of the mass public as a large amount of garbage is created from the household works. Depending on the size of the homes and its inhabitants, governments can set up different limits of volume of waste that must be collected from each home. This will not only prevent us from throwing garbage elsewhere but a large amount of waste can be collected.

However, it is still a debate whether voluntary participation of the public rather than law enforcing is more effective. Some argue that government cannot control each home to collect a fixed amount of garbage unless people are motivated to do so. Besides, if people are motivated and voluntarily active in the waste recycling project, the amount of garbage will be huge and the project will be successful. That is why, first of all, it is important to make people understand the benefits of garbage recycling before enforcing the law, otherwise a legal requirement solely may not be effective.

In conclusion, enforcing law to collect the waste is helpful to collect a large amount of recyclable garbage. But, government should ensure that the public is motivated to take part in this project.