Some people claim that not enough of the waste from homes is recycled. They say that the only way to increase recycling is for governments to make it a legal requirement.

To what extent do you think laws are needed to make people recycle more of their waste?

It is a fact that, over the past few decades managing our waste has been a major problem because we are reluctant to recycle our waste. According to some people, governments need to take care of it by imposing laws. I slightly agree with the statement because, i think government should take others steps like raising awareness constructing infrastructure prior to penalize people.

Firstly, in order to make people habituated to do something we need to spread the knowledge. Making people aware of the consequences of unrecycled waste should be the first step. What are the environmental implications of dumping waste everywhere. The government has to publicize this message through state media as well as other private medias. Therefore it would make certain portion of people conscious regarding recycling.

Secondly, it is a fact that, except several developed countries the adequate infrastructure requires in order to recycle waste is absent. That includes most of the countries in Africa, Asia and South America. Dumping zone like dustbin, truck to transport waste and most importantly recycling centre needs to be built. If people find it convenient to dump their waste then this is going to discourage people from throwing waste all over the place. So, if wastes are being dumped in a proper place and with adequate number of recycling facilities it would make the recycling much easier.

Finally, law can be imposed if the government fails to make people contribute to recycling. Fines can be imposed of someone dumps something on the street notwithstanding having a bin where trash could be dumped. For instance, it is a 200 pound fine in London if someone throws house trash outside of the trash can. This would push people to be more conscious about recycling.

In conclusion, governments have to give people the opportunity to help recycle their waste and a way to about being penalized. If nothing works for the government then it may take the help of the law to solve the problem.