Some people claim that not enough of the waste from homes is recycled, they say that the only way to increase recycling is for governments to make it a legal requirement.

To what extent do you think laws are needed to make people recycle more of their home waste?

The need to recycle more home waste has been a major aim in many nations as these wastes which contains such chemical and other toxin materials that will pollute our water, air and soil. Some people believed issuing laws will correct these people who do not do the recycle, but I will argue that, if we look deeper the problems, there are more measures needed rather than laws.

Firstly, we need to understand why, even in some developed countries, although there are laws and regulations been imposed, people still do not disposal their home waste properly. For a normal household, it is difficult for them to distinguish what waste can be recycled what cannot. People cannot afford neither time nor energy to call every manufactures to ask whether their products can be recycled. Instead of giving laws, the governments should force companies to giving clear and striking instructions on how to recycle their products, if recyclable. For example, in Japan, a home waste disposal guideline is giving to every household to relief them from the unknown. Hence Japan has the highest rate of home waste recycle among other developed countries.

Secondly, letting people benefit from home waste recycle is crucial to inspire people do the recycling job spontaneously. That’s where the government intervene. A credit system can be used as an evaluation method to home’s waste recycle ratio. The higher credits they get, the easier for them to get lower interest rate on mortgage, or extra tax refund, can be an ideal solution to regulate household’s behavior on waste recycle.

In conclusion, to recycle more home waste can be resolved by many ways, laws may have some affect to behave certain people but may have limited effect on general public, the governments needs to seeking alternatives to help people understand the importance of doing waste recycle, and prevail them to take action.