Some people feel that manufacturers and supermarkets have the responsibility to reduce the amount of packaging of goods. Others argue that customers should avoid buying goods with a lot of packaging. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Now-a-days everyone is aware of the environmental damage caused due to usage of packaging materials. While some people believe that it is the responsibility of the consumer to take an initiative in lessening of the packaging, there are others who believe that the amount of packaging should be reduced at the initial stage as in production and dealership stages.

On one hand, I believe that the manufacturers and dealers are responsible for the Excessive packaging of goods. One reason for this is that they want to ensure the hygiene and longevity of the goods. For example, the perishable goods like fruits are extensively packaged in order to maintain freshness. However, in the past, when packaging was not done in such a high scale, products and goods were still of good quality. The other reason being the ignorance of many people about the harmful effects of packaging materials being used. Manufacturers and supermarkets should always try to adopt to a recyclable, bio-degradable alternatives of packaging. For instance, they can use covers made from bamboo fibre to wrap the clothes in. There should be centralized policies in place to ensure the limitations of packaging of goods.

On the other hand, in today’s world, everything is based on the concept of demand and supply and hence customers play an equally significant role in the amount of packaging being done. If we as consumers prefer to buy products with less packaging, the supply of such materials will drastically reduce. Apart from this, the customers should ensure that they promote the usage of bio-degradable and reusable items. For example, in shops and malls, we see people asking for extra polythene covers to carry their purchased goods. Such situations can be easily avoided if people can just bring reusable jute bags from home.

In a nutshell, I firmly believe that both the parties are equally responsible for the production and usage of plastic in high scale. Each one of us and should join hands and spread awareness about the hazardous effects of the plastic packaging and the damage caused to the environment.