Some people feel that manufacturers and supermarkets have the responsibility to reduce the amount of packaging of goods. Others argue that customers should avoid buying goods with a lot of packaging. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

A problem of modern societies is plastics pollution, with conflicting views on how to tackle this worrying trend. One possible solution is to encourage producers and supermarkets to reduce the amount of packaging of goods.

Advocates of this believe that manufacturers and supermarkets are the places where all of the plastic on earth was originally produced. If businesses set rules to limit the packaging of goods with excessive plastics, fewer plastic particles would be disposed into the environment and find their way into the oceans as well as the human stomach. The responsibility to society being fulfilled by the company will also improve the image and reputation of that company in the market, which might even lead to increased sales as well as profit.

However, this solution disregards the large initial investment that might not be interesting to businesses. Replacing plastic with environmentally friendly materials such as glass, paper or plant-based polymer will be more expensive, and the design must be altered. Water bottles made by glasses, for example, might cost more to produce and require different technology to inscribe the marketing brand on the bottle, as compared to traditional plastic bottles.

Another better approach to reduce pollution from plastic is one from the customer level. As well as being effective on a large scale, raising awareness among the consumer is more plausible and feasible. Education on the harmful consequence of plastic will make the consumer lower the amount of plastic waste being dumped into the environment. Not only do the educated people learn that they need to sort their household garbage, together with commercial, into recyclable and non-recyclable types, but they may even find innovative ways to reuse their plastic products. For instance, seasonings containers or planting pots be created from plastic jar cutouts.

From a personal perspective, relying on manufacturers to reduce product packaging is too financially impractical and would not have the desired result. People should be informed of both the dangers of discarding plastics and the proper way to discard those plastics.