Some people find history a fascinating subject. Others say it is dull and has no value in modern life. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

These days witness increasing debates regarding the value of studying history. Some people hold that history is an important subject, while others claim that it has no value at all in modern society. Both arguments will be discussed before we come to a conclusion.

There are several advantages of studying history. First of all, history helps young people develop skills in critical thinking and analysis. It is always difficult to find the truth of history because of bias and propaganda. To find the truth of a history event, young people should discuss why the result was produced and who generated it. Moreover, young people, by studying history, can acquire critical skills such as expressing their opinions properly and process information sensibly. Secondly, various kinds of debates about famous people are rich resources for education. Children can learn that people in the past were not just good or bad, but motivated in complex and inconsistent ways. Learning from past mistakes can increase young people's capability to handle future challenges and prevent them from making similar mistakes, because history always repeats itself in one way or another.

On the other hand, some people claim that studying history would not bring benefits to young people. They argue that studying history is not likely to bring young people a satisfactory job with decent income. Therefore, young people should study in practical subjects such as engineering and science instead of history. In addition, for some special young people who have bad memory, history can be boring and challenging because it demands a heavy burden of memorizing.

In conclusion, the advantages of studying history outweigh its disadvantages and studying history still has significant values to young people today. Therefore, young people should be encouraged to study the history of their own countries.