As human beings advance technologically and scientifically, they find means to earn money and even become rich. Unfortunately, most of these people end up becoming indebted in their mindless pursuit of thins that are unnecessary and expensive to their incomes. A common saying goes on to say that our desire to want things only grows after those wants are fulfilled. There can be many reasons for this immature behavior that people display.

Humans are social animals. Our need to belong to a particular society underlines our innate need to indulge in purchasing things that elevate our position in the society. Consider an example of a seemingly normal need to own a luxurious car. Many people across the world loan money to buy cars and end up shelling money to repay interests and settle insurances. This is all the more common in metropolitan cities where public infrastructure is at least decent. The need to attain a status symbol forces people to spend incessantly and unnecessarily.

Another reason to buy things that exceed personal capacity is to fulfill personal desires or to impress our dear ones. In general, people forget to weigh their personal desires against the usefulness of those desires and thus fall into debt traps.

The above stated reasons are one among the many reasons people spend money beyond their capacities on things not really useful. To prevent this, some corrective and preventive actions need to be taken by people as well as agencies that give loans to people. Firstly, stricter regulations need to be put in order to issue loans for personal needs. Banks should ensure that the loan is granted to people who are truly capable of repaying the amount with interest.

Diversion of income from spending on buying things to putting them on investments is also another option. This is even more pragmatic and useful as investments tend to yield better returns than static assets. People can ultimately get rid of debts by assessing their personal needs and desires objectively and managing to create a sound financial plan for their incomes.