Science is meaningless without religion.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Since time immemorial, there has been an unending debate on whether science is devoid of any religious connections or not. Answering this question is similar to answering the question of what came first , the chicken or the egg ? We might even end up finding an answer to the latter but not the former. This is because both science and religion are entwined in many ways but still are unique and independent in their own ways. Science deals with finding evidences to what exists in our universe and religion, in its core, also tries to answer the same question. On basis of this argument, can we conclude science is related to religion ? Yes. But it is impossible to agree that science is entirely meaningless without religion.

By definition, science is the study of things. It is rooted in its fundamental ideology of explaining based on factual evidences and not mere conjectures. Religion, on the other hand has a set of doctrines that are often forced on the followers. But it also explores the relationship this universe has with 'God', the one above all. The fundamental principle of science conflicts with the idea of something existing without proof. In other words, due to principle differences, science is independent of religion and is meaningful in its own right. Did our ancestors need religion to discover how light is produced ? Did the stone age men refer a religious text to learn how to make wheels ? The answer is an obvious no. Interpretation of science and scientific discoveries are rooted on proven hypothesis which are tried and tested.

There are also other ways in which science distinguishes itself from religion. Science allows people to question beliefs. Majority of the religions in the world like Islam,Christianity mandate their followers to believe that Allah, Jesus are the only people who can help us transcend the boundaries of human limitations. They often refute other religions and their practices. There exist some exceptions to these for example Hinduism, which preaches the dharma of acceptance and faith. But Hinduism is so vast that it is considered a way of life rather than an actual religion. But science, other other hand , is a 'religion' that allows its followers to hypothesize, question and engage in meaningful debates that result in fruition.

On a closer introspection, however, it becomes clear that both science and religion try to find answers to a single question. This question is rooted in spirituality and philosophy. It talks about uncovering the truths that we do not know. It is about finding a metaphysical meaning for the existence of universe. When two contrasting ideologies tend to find answers to a single question, it becomes evident that they are of little use without one another. Even with all the technological inventions and innovations, science cannot conclusively fathom how this universe came into being. There are questions to which even science looks for an explanation. Ironically, sometimes the answers to these questions come from religious texts. The epics like Ramayana and Mahabharata contain references to ideas which are materialized and achieved in real life now. Nuclear weapons are in theory, similar to 'Bramhastra', a celestial weapon found in all Hindu scriptures.

Thus to outright say science is independent of religion may be a far stretched idea, but the fundamentals of science lie in finding spiritual and philosophical answers and these questions need not always take help from religion.