To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The definition of a society is often subjective. Many people tend to associate society with the variety it displays regarding the people who are a part of the society while some people even associate the concept of 'society' with the way in which majority of the people live and thrive. Therefore any attempts to understand the major characteristics of the society needs to take its constituents i.e. the people into account. The claim here makes a declaration that major cities are pivotal to determine prominent and most important characteristics of the society. While I agree that bustling, effervescent major cities do contribute, going so far as to say they are a must is an exaggeration.

One key point to remember is that bigger and major cities in any country or province often become a melting point of cultures owing to its obvious appeal to people with respect to job prospects, better standard of living and more opportunities. For e.g. New York city attracts several millions of people from within United States as well as from all over the globe. When such staggering numbers of people start to make the city their domiciles, society becomes a highly heterogeneous mixture of different races, ethnicity and cultures. The indigenous society would have radically diversified into a different society altogether. In such situations, major cities will not serve as proper representations to understand the important characteristics of the society.

The claim also discounts the crucial role the countryside and smaller towns play in shaping the society and driving its characteristics. Although brimming with a population of over 1 billion, a common man’s perception of a society in India is that of a peaceful, culturally diverse families tracing their roots to agriculture and other informal sector of work. Such characteristics cannot be discerned if we account major cities as the driving force of what forms a society. From a historical perspective, it has always been the roots that decide how a tree grows and flowers blossom. Thus I believe that we can only ascertain the important characteristics of a society by having a keen observation of people in general, not restricted or overly dependent on major cities.

But with the rapid urbanization that the world is witnessing now, there is a solid possibility that major cities could one day in future become a pivotal point to study the characteristics of a society. But this is mere conjecture. Although major cities account to a sizable chunk of a nation or state’s population, its cosmopolitan nature makes it only a considerable but not very significant force to study the society to which it belongs. Bangalore, known as India’s Silicon valley, has a shocking one fifth of the entire population of Karnataka, the state to which it belongs to. But due to a lot of people migrating to the city in search of overwhelming IT jobs, the percentage of local indigenous population is below 50%. Thus a study of Bangalore will not be indicative of the characteristics of the society in the region of Karnataka.

To conclude, characteristics of a society is influenced by a wide variety of factors like people, history, demographics, economy and so on. To study major cities will lead one a step closer towards identifying major characteristics of a society but it is not a highly significant premise, as major cities tend to detract the study of a society from its most important subjects, the indigenous people and their lifestyle.