Some people hold that it is the television that alienates the relationship of family members.

To what extend do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, television has become very popular in every household. However, it raises a concern that television is pushing the family members away from each other. Personally, I would rather agree with this idea.

Firstly, we all may see that some people are really into watching television. Take it as a typical example, one of my colleagues told me that she could stay in her room and watch Korean drama on television from day to day, even without eating sometimes. It is true that keeping the eyes on television screen in most of your free time will drive you away from the gathering moments with other members of the family.

Secondly, some people may defense that watching television together is a good way for all generations in a family to enjoy, talk and share. Nevertheless, it will not happen as far as each member of the family has his and her own favorite programmes. For instance, in family, I am always keen on horror and action movie series. Meanwhile, my younger sister is a big fan of Vietnamese pop music. Sometimes, we were not happy with each other since both wanted to see different programmes shown at the same time. As a result, the conflict is created among the family members.

To sum up, I would say that watching television has the negative impact on the relationships in the family. We can try to reduce this by adjusting the time allocated for television and spend more time gathering and communicating with other family members.