Some people say that advertising is extremely successful at persuading us to buy things Other people think that advertising is so common that we no longer pay attention to it Discuss both these views and give your own opinion

Some people hold the opinion that advertising plays a vital role in convincing consumers to purchase products. However, others opine that advertising has lost its importance since many people have started ignoring it. I believe that advertising is still a primary way for many companies to sell their goods and this essay will elaborate on the same in the following paragraphs while discussing both the viewpoints.

On the one hand, those who have the former view feel that modern advertising techniques are systematic and scientific. To be clear, today, advertisement agencies do not just simply advertise a product. They do extensive study or researches in the marketing field, and most often they can isolate their customers in specific geographical areas. This is done well-ahead of the product’s launch in the market, and naturally these techniques hardly fail. On top of it, the use of newer technology like graphics, and the celebrity focus add colours to these adverts.

On the other hand, the latter group feels that these days adverts have become more or less ‘odd’, as very few advertising companies use unique techniques. To explain it further, the so called ‘targets’ of these companies feel that there is nothing ‘special’, when many products are advertised in a similar manner. This creates a form of psychological negligence in the minds of these people, which results in poor customer-pulling. Another reason for this inattention is the soaring number of advertisements.

In conclusion, while some advertisements succeed in convincing people to buy the items they sell, in other cases customers are more spectacular about what they buy. In deeds, other factors such as the quality of the products and good reviews are more influential.