Some people say that advertising is extremely successful at persuading us to buy things. Others think that advertising is so common that we no longer pay attention to it. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

People have different opinions about the influence of advertising. While some think that commercial advertisements exert a marked impact on the purchasing decisions of customers, others believe otherwise. This essay discusses both these views, and then I will give my aspect on this matter.

On the one hand, there exist compelling reasons for the belief that our purchasing behaviors are easily swayed by advertising. Firstly, companies, regardless of their sizes, all allocate a significant share of their budget to advertising campaigns. Since the top priority of these businesses is to generate profit, advertising must be one of the most effective means of sales-boosting to deserve such substantial expenditure. Secondly, advertisers are experts in choosing the right target audience for their products. Some advertisements do not aim directly at the ones holding the budget in the household, but rather at the real decision-makers. For example, many parents end up buying something they have never heard of, succumbing to the demand of their children who have watched countless times a catchy song endorsing the product.

On the other hand, people who believe that advertising is ineffective due to its pervasive existence have their reasoning. Being bombarded incessantly with all forms of advertising, consumers often find themselves perplexed and suspicious of the trustworthiness of these advertisements. As a result, many of them have decided to ignore commercials, banners, and posters altogether. Additionally, as the advertising market is becoming saturated, splurging money on advertisements do not always ensure a successful business anymore.

In conclusion, both views regarding the effect of advertising have their own merits. However, on balance, I tend to believe in the convincing power of advertisements when it comes to inducing customers to purchase their products. This is because the advertising forms and methods are becoming more sophisticated, integrating into every aspect of our virtual and real life, aiming at our subconscious mind.