Some people say that arts subjects such as painting or drawing should not be made compulsory for high school students. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people think arts subjects are not to be compulsory in high school. I think this idea is justifiable though it downplays the importance of arts to high school students.

The therapeutic effects arts have on people and high schoolers in particular are undeniable. The act of creating arts allows creators to liberate their emotions and channel their negative thoughts to another physical body. Contrariwise, the beauty of arts triggers feelings in admirers, be it happiness or the other way around, setting them free from bodily discomforts and mental limits. By acknowledging the significance of arts and making them compulsory subjects, high schools are giving students a meditative activity and encourage them to let go of the stress they endure during school time.

However, not every high school student can find ease in observing or creating arts. Making arts a mandatory subject, on the contrary, can be counterproductive as this places greater pressures on students who not only have to maintain their academic performance in other subjects but also in arts. The ability to appreciate arts is also at the bottom of the list of requirements for university admission. In Asian countries like Vietnam for example, more often than not, one needs to excel in other, more widely valued disciplines such as science, not arts, to gain entrance into a decent university. Therefore, should high schools prioritize students’ chance to receive tertiary education, they should stop emphasizing subjects that make no contribution to the university application process, among which is arts.

In conclusion, I believe that arts should not be a compulsory discipline in the high school curriculum. In place of this, schools can allow students to make their own choices and open classes of this kind due to students’ demands.