Some people say that the best way to improve public health is by increasing the number of sports facilities. Others, however, say that this would have little effect on public health and that other measures are required.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion

Some people argued that the key in improving the health of the general public is by adding more leisure facilities while others had opposite views. I agreed to the latter view that there is far best method in keeping the people fit. This essay will evaluate two views before a reasoned conclusion is drawn.

To begin, there is a prolific increase of sports facilities in the major cities and towns. This trend is a result of growing personal awareness to keep the body in shape. These facilities provide various sports equipment to help toned the muscle in the body, as well as building stamina. For example, some of the membership gyms, which can found in huge shopping mall, enable them to be more visible and closer to people. Thus, this makes it clear that when people participate in a sports program, their health condition will suddenly improve.

However, others believed that sports houses provide a little help. They pointed out that it is not the lack of facilities or absence of opportunities that cause the failing public health, but rather the motivation factor of an individual. The most effective method is for the government to initiate an advertising campaign to motivate people to live healthily. This should educate the people of the outcome of a sedentary lifestyle and the possible illness it may bring. For instance, UK promotes a “Five Fruit a Day Campaign” and the rate of overweight reduced by 20% in a year. This clearly confirms that efficient government campaign worked to influence the wellness of the people.

In conclusion, although the presence of sports facilities contributes to general health of the people, I agreed that the government intensive campaign is the best option. It is recommended that government of other nations adopts the same approach for the betterment of the society.