Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

What other measure do you think might be effective?

The argument of increased fuel price as the key to tackle the issue of pollution and traffic congestion is both supported and refuted by many. It is disagreed that it is the only way and there is another practical approach to this problem.

To begin with, an increased in petrol cost will have an insignificant effect on reducing the usage of private cars, which is the main cause of air pollution and congested roads. This is because the people who can still afford to pay the high cost of fuel, will still drive their cars for convenience. For instance, the UK government increased the petroleum cost five times last year, but the result was immaterial declined in car usage of just 5%. This shows that it has little effect in solving this issue.

Furthermore, the most practical solution is to use public transport. The government should sponsor an awareness campaign that will enlighten people’s initiative to avail of a mass transport system. People’s attitude towards this new change plays a crucial role in the success of this approach. For example, if the use of renovated mass transit is widely accepted by commuters in a progressive business district, it can have a retroactive effect in passengers of nearby cities. Thus, the promotion of public transport usage will be an effective tool to lessen the cars on the roads.

In conclusion, although increasing the fuel cost can help to solve the problem of air pollution and congestion on roads, I believe that the key to combat the problems are reduction of private car’s usage and availment of public transport.