Some people say that the best way to improve public health is by increasing the number of sports facilities. Others, however, say that this would have little effect on public health and that other measures are required. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience

Write at least 250 words.

Nowadays, staying healthy is a crucial concern for everyone. Some would argue that in order to boost the health of the public, expanding the number of sports amenities is the most appropriate way while others think it could not be enough. In my opinion, I believe improving the public’s health is a complicated problem that can not be solved by any single strategy.

On the one hand, making a rise in sports facilities might be a good point to start but it will have no effect if there is a lack of other aspects such as time for exercise and motivation. First of all, gyms and equipment are for nothing if people have no time to practice or go to the gym. Moreover, doing exercise is a daily life process and a long-term plan what requires us to keep our motivation and doing it every day. For instance, over 60% of 21 - 26 years old people who do workout less than 2 times per week and most of them have the excuse that they have other works to do and losing their interest in practicing. Thus, we need solutions to help people have more time and exercise habits instead of just proving them the facilities which might not be used.

On the other hand, there are various factors that affect people’s health such as reducing stress at work, a healthy diet, or a proper exercise plan. In fact, having too much pressure at the working place could put people in some dangerous mental conditions. In addition, losing control of eating unhealthy foods could bring lots of problems to our hearts and our body. More than that, improper practice strategy could cause exercise injury for example muscle pull or sprained ankle. Because of those reasons, many aspects are needed in making public health better.

To sum up, I believe people’s health could not be improved by increasing sports facilities as the only solution while other strategies are needed.