The benefits and drawbacks of economic development have been being one of the most controversial issues in recent decades. To some people, it seems impossible to eliminate famine and destitution without economic growth. However, the negative effects on the environment are enormous that other people think it must be stopped. I do not completely agree with the second idea that we have to forsake the economy to protect the environment. Instead, we should develop Eco-friendly technologies and energy.

On the one hand, the benefits of economic growth are noticeable. The industrialization brings tremendous amount of job opportunities for people all over the world. Through economic activities, governments will have more money from taxes which can be used to enhance living conditions of poor people such as complimentary food and shelters. Farmers also benefit from the global trading when their agricultural products are able to be consumed in large supermarkets or exported.

On the flip side, the destructive impacts of economic growth on the environmental ecosystem and biodiversity are obviously immense. To make way for factories and commercial centers, rain forests and wildlife habitat such as swamps have to be flattened, hence, bring many species to the edge of extinction. Moreover, chemical toxic emitted from industrial zones can cause air pollution and seriously damage to water resources.

However, we should not sacrifice the tremendous advantages brought by economic development to conserve the environment. Instead, we can apply advanced sciences and technologies to minimize bad effects of economic growth. For instance, manufacturers are able to use electricity generated by clean energy sources such as solar or wind power. Industrial wastewater can be treated by modern technologies to eliminate contaminants before discharging back the environment.

In conclusion, the ideas that we must stop economic growth to protect the environment or we should keep it as the top priority to put an end to famine and poverty still remain a source of controversy. We must consider both negative and positive ramifications in order to have appropriate economic development strategies.