Some people say economic development is necessary to reduce the poverty in the world. Others say that economic growth should be stop immediately to stop damaging the environment. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

In the recent years, rapidly booming uplift of economy is gaining a great deal of attention throughout the globe. Most importantly, it has been a bone of contention among the critics about its impact in the world. While some people feel that it has several downsides on environment, I would contend that it has multifarious benefits too. Here, both sides of my assertion will be scrutinized with my proper verdict at last.

To commence with, poverty has been a significant issue among many nations by illiteracy, lack of infrastructure and economic progress. Apparently, if a nation encourages on economic growth it can enable high standard of living with adequate job opportunities for people to meet their basic need and improve incentives for parents to invest in their children’s education by sending them to school. Consequently, this will lead to growth in entrepreneurs with pressure on good governance. Additionally, economic growth during the Twentieth Century was a major reason in reducing absolute levels of poverty and enabling a rise in life expectancy.

Nevertheless, despite of its many benefits commercial development can have irreversible impact on environment. For instance, future growth cannot be done without environmental sustainability however, the rate of economic growth is increasing on increase in quantity and quality of natural resources like fossil fuels, valuable metal and wildlife. To illustrate, excessive use of fossil fuels in industries and automobiles releases more carbon dioxide and other greenhouse gases, making them the primary contributor to global warming and climate change.

To conclude, as I aforementioned economic growth has a deleterious influence on environment ,however it is required for to eradicate poverty and improve nation’s economy. In my opinion, future economic growth scheme with emphasis on sustainable nature can transfer the world into a happier place.