Some people say that economic growth is the only way to end world poverty and hunger however, others believe that it leads to environmental damages.

While some people believe that only with economic prosperity can humans solve the global problem of hunger and poverty, others contend that economic growth must be put an end since it can cause grave harm to our ecosystem. From my perspective, I espouse the second view. On the one hand, it is undeniable that a flourishing economy is an effective cure for the tragedy of world hunger and poverty. Proponents of economic development suggest that this would elevate the living standard of the poor and provide them the wealth to afford the necessities of life hence alleviate the rate of poverty. Secondly, state corporations, as well as the private sectors can also be able to pay their employees a high remuneration on schedule providing that they get rid of the financial crisis. Finally, the developing economy will reduce the international debt of the countries hence enable governments to allocate more resources to various aspects of their citizen lives. For example, more charity campaigns and scholarships for needy children can be held and funded by the national budget. although the role of economic growth in eliminating starvation and destitution cannot be underestimated, I hold a firm belief that this trend has also led to several environmental problems. one of the most grave by-products of economic development is the degradation of air quality. The fuse and emission exhausted from industrial factories release an enormous amount of carbon dioxide and other toxic chemical compounds that severely destroy the air purity and damage the ozone layer. Consequently, the seriousness of global warming and climate change is increasingly escalating. For example, since the industrialization, the air quality in Shanghai has been seriously deteriorated that scarcely do people can go out without wearing a mask. To tackle this issue, China government even has to halt the economic growth to conserve the environment. In conclusion, although it can be denied the essential role of the flourishing economy in erasing the starvation and poverty, I believe that this growth should be taken under control to protect the ecosystem