Some people say that the experiences a child has before starting school have the most influence on their future life. Others say that experiences as a teenager, especially at school, are more influential.

Discuss both views and give your own opinion?

Citizens have sparked off an argument about the roles played by different stages of life in youngsters’ development. While many citizens believe that preschool period exert a remarkable impact on children, I opine that experience during teenager stage offers more significant influences.

On the one hand, experience prior to starting school is recognised as a critical contribution factor to a person’s lifestyle and characteristic. Indeed, during their formative years, babies and toddlers tend to imitate surrounding adults, which has been proved to form their patterns of behavior and reflect in how they interact with others in the future. For instance, in a recent investigation into domestic violence, 80% of assailants revealed that they acted as what they witnessed during their babyhood, including physical, verbal or sexual abusing scenes between their parents. In fact, personality formation is a gradual process, which is accumulated even when a person enters his adult life. However, the earlier we expose to a phenomenon, the more likely it is adopted, so this instinct suggest that memories before attending primary can leave a more indelible impression than that of any other life stage.

On the other hand, it seems to me that the aforementioned impacts can be overshadowed by those reaped from teenager stage. From an education perspective, it is not until this period are youngsters instructed to explain facts in black and white, and equipped with various thinking skills. In other words, attending school during adolescence provides them with an unprecedented cognitive development by which they can enhance their competencies and become better-prepared for prospective occupation. In addition, from a social perspective, no sooner do youngsters enter teenager than their interaction with parents begins to blur, while that with strangers and friends gets more frequent. Therefore, this accelerate their maturity by enabling them to entirely grasp the complexity of human relationship, and integrating themselves into a community as an independent individuals rather than children embraced by their families.

In brief, while not disavowing the influences of experience at an early age, I believe that the effects of teenager stage, with the acquisition of school education, are more noteworthy to juvenile development.