Some people say that having a lot of TV channels is good, while others argue that it reduce the quality of programmes. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

With the wide advancement of information technology, media also have been developing similarly. Among these electronic media, televisions have gained big improvement and as a result of that lot of TV channels are launched frequently. There are several disputes regarding having many TV channels as some are seen it positively while others think it reduces the quality of programmes.

Firstly, there are variety of TV channels such as commercial TV channels, educational TV channels like Discovery and sports TV channels like CSN. Having these TV channels are provided good selection of programmes to people. On the other hand, if they missed programmes like news from one channel, they can watch it from another. Moreover, a lot of programmes and news are telecast by these channels with a great variety. Hence, people can get vast amount of information and great deal of entertainment. Furthermore, aplenty of job opportunities are supplied through these channels and a lot of artists can present their creations more conveniently than earlier.

Every coin has two sides so, in this case, there are advantages as well as disadvantages too.The big competition between these channels is compelled to telecast any kind of programmes that can attract more spectators. Moreover, these channels are aimed commercial purposes in great extent. For instance, in Sri Lanka several channels are telecast mega teledramas and other recreational programmes of foreign countries without thinking social cultural effects on local culture and system.They give job opportunities for less experienced people as they need big crew to run the channel.A lot of commercial breaks are added during programmes and it harms not only for continuous flow of the programme but also enjoyment of people.

According to aforementioned facts, there are both positive and negative influences in having several number of TV channels. I personally believe that enforcing censorship laws reasonably and taxes, government can control quality of programmes. In addition to that people also have responsibility to select quality programmes and refuse others.