Some people say that it is more important for employers to consider academic qualifications rather than personal life experience and values when hiring an employee. Do you agree or disagree?

While some people believe that recruiters should choose candidates with high qualifications and good scores instead of considering their work experience and other personal values, I believe that, along with a degree, practical experiences can also prove the capability of applicants.

On the one hand, a degree can give recruiters more reliable and immediate evidence when choosing suitable staff for the company due to some reasons. Firstly, a good degree demonstrates that a person has a good academic background and has acquired the necessary skills and in-depth knowledge for a particular field. There are some jobs requiring employees to have high professional knowledge that can be only learned at universities, such as occupations in the medical or technological field. Secondly, the university environment also trains students’ essential soft skills which can be necessary for future jobs. For instance, most education systems in university create opportunities for students to take part in community activities to improve their teamwork skills or research skills, management skills, and so on.

On the other hand, I embrace the opinion that personal life experience and values are also important factors that most head hunters should consider before choosing suitable staff for their organizations. First of all, apparently, enrolling in a university and getting a degree seems to be easier for most students nowadays since there are more and more private universities established. This leads to a dramatic increase in the number of graduates with the same degrees. Thus, among a good many applicants having similar qualifications, in order to recruit the most competent employees, managers should take into account other outstanding strengths such as work experience and personalities. In fact, if a candidate has done part-time jobs or taken part in internship programs related to their majors, it is proved that whether they have passions and talents in such areas or not. Secondly, it is undeniable that some knowledge at university tends to be theoretical and scarcely relevant to practical jobs so most fresh employees need training before becoming official staff of companies. Therefore, hiring those whose experience is available helps companies to save time and cost to train them again.

Inconclusion, there are various reasons why some employers prefer people with academic qualifications rather than those who only have the life experience or good personalities and I think that it is a negative development.