Some people say that the main environmental problem of our time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals. Others say that there are more important environmental problems.

Discuss both views and give your own opinion

People have different views about whether environmental problems would merely be limited to species extinction or something more vital than that. Personally, I believe that the loss of species is just a small piece of the whole picture.

On the one hand, the decimation of particular flora and fauna is only a taste of what is to come. In fact, it is often that a catastrophe or climate change that pushes creatures to the brink of extinction. Animals and plants are incapable of acclimatizing to the adjustment dramatically, so they will die out earliest. . For instance, the Mammoth went extinct amid a warming climate and widespread human hunting 10 thousand years ago.

As long as these disasters exist, humankind will be threatened sooner or later. Take Africa for example. Millions of people here are suffering from persistent droughts and famine, which means there is no water nor food, caused by the global warming effect. The more arid this planet is, the more serious the problems civilization faces.

On the other hand, air pollution is a concerning issue. Individuals are breathing, and they do not know what is in the air. Industrialization releases millions of tons of smoke into the atmosphere per year, which intensely does harm to the ozone layer. People may undergo respiratory illness owing to the awful quality of air, or troubles with skin cancer, which is caused by UV radiation. According to an emerging statistic, there are more and more skin cancer victims, which are rising along with the emergence/appearance of ozone holes.

In conclusion, I would argue that mankind is facing not only extinction but also a more severe dilemma. Nevertheless, it is essential to include all pieces in the picture and observe all the aspects of this alarming problem.