Some people say music is a good way of bringing people of different cultures and ages together. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Although each person experiences music in their own unique way, it can be agreed upon that music is universally enjoyed. This mutual appreciation for music could provide a common ground for people of different cultures and help them reach a better undrestanding of both their differences and similarities, yet, to claim the same statement for people of different ages may not be as valid.

In regard to the effect of music on the relation between cultures, one must differentiate between various genres of music. Some genres are specifically focused on reflecting cultures and even blending musical elements of different countries. These genres play a significant role in connecting different audiences from various parts of the world. By listening to such music, the audience is exposed to the art of another culture, while experiencing the music of their own country, all in one song. Considering that music is a powerful tool in regard to activating different feeling states, the audience may end up associating pleasant feelings with the new culture they are being exposed to, without having any prior knowledge of that culture. This in turn could result in a positive change in perspective and help people be more tolerant and understanding of other cultures.

In contrast to said argument, music could play a role in widening the gap between generations, considering that people in different ages may have very different tastes in music. For example, younger generations may be more inclined to listen to more up-beat music, whereas older generations tend to prefer more reserved genres of music. Since some people put a great value on other’s music tastes and often times use this as a metric for judging one’s character, such contrast in music taste could result in wrongful evaluation of different ages, as both generations may believe that their own taste is of higher value and quality, compared to the taste of the other age groups. These judgments not only will prevent different generations from getting closer, but may also result in increased resentments.

In conclusion, music could be considered a tool, and the way it is being used may define the scope and the quality of its effects. In the instance of cultures, I believe music could result in better connections, whereas between different age groups, the same reasoning may not be applied.