Nowadays, not enough students choose science subjects in university in many countries. What are the reasons for this problem? What are the effects on the society?

The world needs scientists, nearly as much as it is in need of philosophers; yet, an imbalance may occur when society demands for practical scientists at the field, but the individuals prefer abstraction and ideas. Therefore, it seems that a lack of interest in empirical subjects drives people to Humanities and Arts instead of sciences. Another cause may be due to the views that people hold of these subjects. Such imbalance may have a positive impact on society as it could prevent the pitfalls of excessive development.

In regard to the lack of interest; one could argue that the empirical approach is rigid and lacks the flexibility that could entice the human creativity. This inflexibility might repel people since they may prefer to work in less structured fields ‘as’ it is an innate trait of human beings to opt for freedom over rules and order. As for the effects of perspective; the majority seems to hold this view that science majors are more difficult in comparison and therefore it would be of less trouble to go for easier subjects. For example, many of the medical students I have met seem to think they would have been better off if they had gone to law school instead. This view may not be necessarily true since talents could be of factor in determining whether a subject is difficult.

To evaluate the impacts, one could consider the examples of World War I and World War II. ‘To elaborate’, Industrial Revolution that led to these tragic wars was the result of rapid development in science. Such abrupt progress in these fields paired with primordial and less developed philosophies and values had a heavy and grim consequence for humankind. So, to attract more brilliant minds to subjects other than sciences may be of great use in repairing filling the gap currently present between theories and practices.

Overall, it seems that the value this generation holds for freedom, imagination and creativity has urged them to pursue their own callings rather than the demands of society, but this might be just what our world requires in order to overcome its shortcomings and move towards a more peaceful and less destructive state.