Some people say that music is a good way of bringing people of different cultures and ages together. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

It is undeniably that music plays an important role in the spiritual life of virtually everyone who belongs to different cultures and ages. While I think that music really brings people together, I also believe the differences between generation is hard to minimize by the impact of music.

On the one hand, music allows people to communicate without a language barrier. What I mean is that people can express their emotions and ideas through the melody of the songs. For example, artists who can sing and play instruments are capable of delivering their happiness or sadness to different audiences without saying a word. Therefore, they can build trust and understanding among people despite their cultures and ages. What’s more, music can be a gate to the conversation which makes different types of people open up to each other. For instance, when I travelled to Korea, I used to get close to a local person for the reason that we had the same taste of music.

On the other hand, I also think that bringing people of different ages together may be out of control of the music. That is to say, generation gaps cause many people to have different tastes in music. For example, youngsters tend to listen to current pop music with fast and strong rhythm, while the elderly would prefer classic music from their generation as they want to enjoy the light rhythm, lyrics. Moreover, the different in lifestyle is also the reason for this. While old people are in favor of insightful and thoughtful lyrics, the young are now listening to rap which may help them to alleviate stress and unwind after a busy day.

In conclusion, although music does bring people of different cultures together, I am of the opinion that music can not erase the generation gaps.