In some countries, small town-centre shops are going out of business because people tend to drive to large out-of-town stores. As a result, people without cars have limited access to out-of-town stores, and it may result in an increase in the use of cars. Do you think the disadvantages of this change outweigh its advantages?

In modern days, the ongoing demand for shopping has extended to a variety of new shops and stores, in both the suburbs and the center. However, people now have a tendency to travel to big cities’ stores instead of shopping locally. Personally, the drawbacks, which have plenty of troublesome effects for long-term strategies, do outweigh the benefits.

On the one hand, people’s preference of stores within metropolises obviously have some benefits for a number of reasons. First of all, people’s desires for the center store's products, which are of higher quality, are synchronized with an improved living condition. In other words, people will not be able to afford these exclusive objects unless they have deep pockets. Moreover, to attract more customers, the stores might have prominent offers, which are beneficial for both sides. Consequently, it will promote businesses in cities more flourishing than ever without any doubt.

On the other hand, there are various reasons why a bias preference in metropolitan area’s stores, combined with prejudice against small town-center shops, is problematic in the majority of aspects. First to mention, the rising density of vehicles is undeniable. Traffic congestion not only threatens the environment extremely, which results in worse health conditions but also causes psychological problems such as stress for humans. Furthermore, it pushes local stores down. Indeed, having their income declined, due to the fact that products cannot be introduced to the market, owners can not afford enough fees for rental and employee’s compensation, whereas expenses are increasing considerably day by day. The rural economy, therefore, cannot be developed positively.

In conclusion, the tendency of going shopping in big cities, despite various benefits regarding better businesses and higher quality living conditions, promises immense issues to the local economy and humans’ health conditions.