Some people say music is a good way of bringing people of different cultures and ages together. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Music is out of the question one of the best-known tools to help people relax as well as cure some mental illnesses. It is said, that tunes and rhythms are useful to connect people from all walks of life and different age groups. As far as I am concerned, I just partly concur with the statement, given some plausible rebuttals that are going to be discussed in the essay.

On the one hand, on the supporting side, it is indisputable that music plays an important role in terms of forming close ties between individuals. As can be widely recognized, music connects people in such an effective way, especially in a number of concerts and social events. Take the World Cup as an example, sports lovers around the globe gather in big stadiums to sing the theme song of the event during the opening ceremony, which offers happiness and encourages international unity among people. Moreover, music can be found at cultural meetings where visitors get to know the cultures and daily routines of the ethnic minorities. This certainly enhances global connection and dissolves any hurdles such as language barriers and lifestyle differences.

However, the given statement does not always work properly since music is a vast field that involves a variety of genres that suit different groups of people. To be more specific, it is quite rare to capture a child enjoying classical masterpieces which were written in jazz or country styles. In addition, the contents of songs and compositions often vary and aim at different potential listeners. For instance, authors and songwriters are more likely to publish products that meet the demands and tastes of their regular customers so as to ensure their profits. Lastly, it Is worth mentioning the possibility of people using music for nefarious intentions such as offending or criticizing any particular target. In this case, music is no longer a useful tool to bring people together, let alone tear individuals apart.

In conclusion, music itself can act as both an intermediate connector or a separator depending on a number of aspects. While there are some major benefits of music connecting people globally, the possible misuse of music also deserves attention.