Some people say that music is a good way of bringing people of different cultures and ages together.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this view?

Music has always played a vital role in our lives. I agree that it unites people from different cultures, but the difference of taste in music between generations has mostly resulted in disputes.

When it comes to enjoying music, language cannot be much of a barrier. It is, therefore, possible for people of different ethnic backgrounds to share their love for a particular song. This level of passion for music can be witnessed on a large scale when international music festivals bring together people from different countries. Such events can spread positive vibes and even help ease political tensions. For example, the Eurovision, an annual musical contest in Europe, unites different nationalities. Millions of people around the world follow this competition online, and the voting system is set up in such a way that they can only vote for singers from other countries. As a result, viewers can connect to a certain song or a singer representing a different culture.

While cultural boundaries can be easily broken by music, this may not be the case with age differences. Taste in music has changed dramatically over the past years, and this has stirred endless disagreements between the generations. Today’s youth are subject to constant criticism from the older generation for their choice of music. The fundamental reason for this difference in taste lies within the ever-increasing generation gap, heightened by today’s media and the internet. New genres of music mainly preferred by youth, such as hip-hop and rock, can be a great example.

To sum up, while cultural differences can be faded away, the age gap between the generations has resulted in never-ending debates over different genres of music. Thus, I believe while music can be an effective way to unite people of different cultures, this does not translate well across different ages.