Despite the stature of the Olympic Games, some people doubt the significance of the Olympic Games in the present world. In my opinion, I disagree with any thought that question the importance of the Olympics as it provides the athlete with a platform to showcase his talents. Also, they bring various countries together despite the issues among them.

Firstly, the Olympics are considered as Mecca for the athletes. Every athlete wishes for a stage to showcase the skills, and audience for the applause. The Olympics provide an athlete with the both. An athlete puts years of effort to achieve the performance required for a competition like Olympics. If the Olympics are discontinued, it would not only be the loss of athlete but also for the fans across the globe.

In addition to that, the Olympics are also the stage for international diplomacy. Political leaders from different countries visit the host country to cheer for their countries and, consequently, meet the leaders from other countries. These meetings provide an opportunity to discuss important issues on a lighter note. Thus, even getting to the solution of long pending problems. Further, only because of Olympics world has witnessed arch rivals like North Korea and South Korea to play as a single team.

Finally, the Olympics games boost the economy of the host country. It is a well-proven fact that growth comes from either government spending or private spending. For the Olympics, both the government and people spend a lot and, therefore, causes the economy to grow. To watch the games, millions of people visit the host country. They not only pay to watch the games but also shop many souvenirs.

In conclusion, discontinuing the Olympics would cause a loss of a platform for an athlete and international diplomacy. Also, would result in a loss of a growth opportunity for the countries.