Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel to or work in a foreign country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language.

Discuss both views and give your opinion.

According to some, speaking a foreign language only enables people to get a job or travel in another country, as the rest might be done in their native language and the efforts used for learning another language for other purposes than work and travel can be spent on other valuable things. And there may be some merit in this view. Yet, in what follows it will be argued that knowing a foreign language has numerous advantages, since this can promote education and bring closer to other cultures.

speaking a foreign language is a must for the majority, as this is an important part of getting proper education. it is obvious that there are not enough academic materials in numerous languages. For instance, while studying at medical school I had limited access to professional books and articles in my native language. Therefore, being able to read in another language triggered my academic performance. Thus, people will apply themselves more, when they have knowledge about other languages.

another positive aspect of speaking a foreign language is the opportunity of integrating with one’s favorite culture. people will be able to do various activities such as watching movies, reading books, and so much more.For example, my cousin is a huge fan of indian movies and music, and this encouraged her to learn hindi. Now she does not only watch movies in hindi, but also has many indian friends. Hence, people enjoy getting to know another culture with the help of original rather than interpreted languages

In conclusion, it was shown that speaking a foreign language can play a significant role in education and globalization. However, some believe that this skill is only vital in traveling and working, as learning a foreign language requires lots of energy that can be used in more useful spheres and knowing the native language is enough for doing the rest of the activities.