Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel to or work in a foreign country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language.

Learning a foreign language is no doubt a great thing to do. It opens so many doors that people who do not learn a foreign language won’t understand ever. In general, the major reasons for people learning a foreign language are travel and work in a foreign country. But there are other aspects to learn a foreign language, which are also important to individuals.

Whenever learning a foreign language, most people think about the practical benefits of it. Indeed that is the case. Most people learn foreign language in order to go abroad to work, or sometimes for travel purposes. However, people should not learn foreign language only for these two purposes. For example, learning a language can allow them to communicate with foreigners who speak that language. Through this communication, they can learn about their culture, history and customs.

Other than travel or work in foreign countries, learning a language can open doors to careers in home country too. For example, travel guide is a rapidly growing job market in modern era. People travel the whole world. And for that they need tour guides who can effectively communicate with them and present them a wonderful trip.

People might have other purposes for learning a language like reading the literature of that particular language. It is more accessible if one reads those great pieces of literature work if they read them in their original language. People like researchers may also require to learn a foreign language in order to study the language, or may be study the culture of the people who speak that particular language.

Therefore, learning a foreign language has so many purposes other than travel or work in abroad. People learn foreign languages for so many different reasons. That is why reaching this conclusion is not plausible at all.