Formal education tends to restrain our minds and spirits rather than set them free.

The main purpose of education is to broaden our mind, so we can see the world in a different eye. While it is important, formal education is necessary to prepare us for our future to contribute to our society and the world as a whole. The issue states that formal education restrains our mind and spirit, which may be true in some cases, but in general it provides us the basis for further improvement of ourselves, which means our minds and spirits.

We all need to make a livelihood while contributing to this world. Formal education prepares us for our career. Without a formal education we are like ancient human beings, who lived in caves and trees and just hope for the best. They had to depend on mercy of the nature. But in modern time, this type of lifestyle is not practical at all. While some people might argue against formal education, it actually broadens our mind and spirit. It allows us to have a strong foundation for whatever we do in life. It provides us with the opportunity to experiment with different things without fear.

We need formal education in many aspects of our modern life. For example, a doctor must have a formal medical degree before he can attend patients. We can all imagine the problems it will pose before us if a doctor does not have a formal medical degree. A medical degree is designed keeping in mind various important issues that a person who teaches himself medical science cannot possibly achieve. The degree prepares a doctor for a wide range of situations that may arise in his professional life.

Another example could be the profession of an engineer. A person must have a formal engineering degree before he can call himself an engineer. Engineers have to do a lot of important and dangerous things like building bridges, buildings, cars and so on. They also have to solve a wide range of problems that arise in their profession. A formal degree is required for those reasons. A person cannot teach himself engineering. Even if he can, there will be no way of evaluating him without formal education. This poses a serious problem in the safety of our everyday life. We cannot trust someone who does not have a formal education which is required for that profession.

In some cases formal education may result in restraining our mind and spirit if formal education is not designed in the proper way. Education should be both strict and flexible. We also have to keep in mind about individual needs, which help to shape the education system. Education system plays an important role in determining whether formal education is restraining our minds and spirits. That is why people involved in this regard should analyze the system vigorously.

Education is mainly a foundation, which we depend on. Formal education may seem to be restraining but in reality it allows us to explore the world as well as our mind and spirit. So the importance of formal education cannot be denied.