Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology.

University of a place to prepare students for their future, to make them capable of being well adapted to whatever situation they go to in their life. University is a place where students explore the world of knowledge so they can choose the right path for them. That is why they should be allowed to study the subjects they like. However, the university curriculum should also advice them to study subjects that would be beneficial for the real life, but under no circumstances they should be forced to study a certain subject.

University is like a land of opportunities. Students discover themselves by exploring various areas. This way their ability and passion becomes clearer to them, so they can act accordingly. For that matter, they should be allowed to study subjects they like, which will be much more beneficial for them than a subject that might have better opportunities in the future which they don’t like.

Every student is different. They all have different choices, different likes and dislikes and plans. So it is not easy to determine which subjects will be useful in the future for all the students. Each student has different requirements. They have diverse range of passions, which make them unique from one another. A student might like music over other so called useful subjects for the future. In that case the student should be allowed to choose courses he/she likes. It might be useful for him. If a student likes history, history courses will be useful to him/her.

Commonly believed useful subjects might not be useful for everyone because not everyone’s goals are the same. It is a very subjective matter, which cannot be generalized. It should always be up to the student what he/she want to study, because that would be the most useful subject for that individual.