"A recent study of eighteen rhesus monkeys provides clues as to the effects of birth order on an individual's levels of stimulation. The study showed that in stimulating situations (such as an encounter with an unfamiliar monkey), firstborn infant monkeys produce up to twice as much of the hormone cortisol, which primes the body for increased activity levels, as do their younger siblings. Firstborn humans also produce relatively high levels of cortisol in stimulating situations (such as the return of a parent after an absence). The study also found that during pregnancy, first-time mother monkeys had higher levels of cortisol than did those who had had several offspring."

The argument claims that birth order has effects on the level of stimulation of rhesus monkey. It says that first borns tend to have more cortisol level than younger siblings. However, the study was performed on only eighteen monkeys, which is not a significant number to reach a conclusion like that. Also, while some stimulating situations may lead to the conclusion, there may be other stimulating situations which may provide different results. Again, the study was done on rhesus monkeys, which does not allow to reach a conclusion about other monkeys.

The recent study was performed on eighteen rhesus monkeys. The number of monkeys involved in the study is not enough to reach a conclusion. If more monkeys were involved in the study, the result might be different from that obtained. Individual animals differ in their behavior in a wide range, which necessitates the need for increased number of subjects in a study. Therefore, limited number of monkeys in the study cannot lead to a convincing result.

The argument states that stimulating events have more effect in first borns than their younger siblings. The example provided was an encounter with an unfamiliar monkey and pregnancy. But it does not mean that the monkeys will behave in the same way in other stimulating events. The argument does not mention if there were other stimulating events observed in the study. There might be situations where younger monkeys might have more stimulating effects than the first borns. The study should not generalize the results based on a limited number of stimulating events. Another example the argument provides is human behavior in stimulating situations, which does not match with the context here.

The study provides release of more cortisols in first borns as the effect of stimulating events. However, there might be other hormones involved in response to those events, which the study may not have observed. Also, there might be environmental effects involved in the monkeys’ cortisol level which might not be considered. To get the complete picture of the study, these factors are required to be analyzed.