"A recent study of eighteen rhesus monkeys provides clues as to the effects of birth order on an individual's levels of stimulation. The study showed that in stimulating situations (such as an encounter with an unfamiliar monkey), firstborn infant monkeys produce up to twice as much of the hormone cortisol, which primes the body for increased activity levels, as do their younger siblings. Firstborn humans also produce relatively high levels of cortisol in stimulating situations (such as the return of a parent after an absence). The study also found that during pregnancy, first-time mother monkeys had higher levels of cortisol than did those who had had several offspring."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

The passage above tries to relate the production of hormones and their effects in infant monkeys to the birth order in their families. Based on the study on infant monkeys, it states that firstborn infant monkeys as well as first-time mothers tend to produce relatively higher levels of cortisol during simulating situations than those with siblings (or mothers who have had several offspring). The passage implicates the results these findings to the high levels of production in firstborn humans.

While monkeys and humans show similarities in their behavior in certain aspects, it is doubtful that hormone secretion with respect to external stimulus can be compared. The natural environment to which an infant monkey and a human child is exposed to is inherently different in nature. So as to say, to know how comparable 'encounter with an unfamiliar monkey' and 'return of a parent after an absence' in real life. For example, the former may prove to be a negative stimulus while the latter is most probably a positive stimulus. Moreover, the circumstances that led the to stimuli also plays an important part in how infants react (in both monkeys and humans) and may have an effect on the level of hormones produced as a result. A child seeing its parent after two months will have increased level of activity as compared to a child who is seeing its parent after a day. Similarly, a child being surprised by a parents' visit will react differently than a child expecting his parent to come see him.

Most importantly, the environment in which the monkeys were tested will have an impact on how they respond to these stimulus. Their behavior in a completely natural setting may be different from the one observed in an artificially simulated environment.

Thus, the level of hormones secreted by infants is more dependent on the nature of the external stimulus, the events leading up to it and also the kind of environment that the kid is most prominently exposed to as opposed to the birth order, as suggested by the passage.