Some people believe that it is a good idea to share as much information as possible in scientific research, business and the academic world. Others believe that some information is too important or too valuable to be shared freely.

Now is the age of information and sharing them. The whole world is connected and we are the citizens of a global village. So sharing information is important for us all to develop to a better future. However, when it is sharing information freely we are concerned about, it all comes down to the nature of the information being shared.

Information in general should not be kept in secret. For example, there are a lot of scientific research going on all over the world whose purposes are developing our understanding of the world and inventions that lead to development. Freely sharing these kinds of information may lead to acceleration and collaboration among researchers. This can be extremely helpful to the society and its’ inhabitants. Sharing knowledge of academic world also serves the same purpose. Business is the driving force of the whole world. Almost everything comes down to business. So sharing business information can lead to global development , which in turn can contribute in various useful ways. For example, entrepreneurship nowadays is a major factor in business. If successful entrepreneurs of the world share their strategies and motivations, people who are starting this can be highly benefitted. This will help to reduce the amount of unemployment all over the world.

While sharing information has its’ great benefits, sometimes it is best to keep them secret. For example, nuclear technology is a marvel of modern science and engineering. Sharing this kind of information can be dangerous considering there are people who can use it for the purpose of destruction. Government policies in some matters should also be kept secret, otherwise they may create chaos, that can cause the entire system to collapse. Security systems also should not be shared because that may also lead to drastic effects.

Therefore, we need to be careful while sharing information. Benefits and impacts should be carefully assessed before sharing information, because without that the world may face threatening situations.