Laws should be flexible enough to take account of various circumstances, times, and places.

Laws are necessary for any civilized society to function properly and they are applied to various circumstances, times and places. Therefore, laws should be made in a way so that they can be applied to different situation. But we have to be careful that the laws are not too much flexible so as to create any loopholes, which can really complicate a situation.

Laws should be strict and unbiased, this is a fact which we must accept. But sometimes a law that is too much strict can create complications to apply it to the different things that is encountered in a society. For example, a law can say that the punishment for stealing is going to prison for 5 months without any kind of specifications of the kind of theft performed, who performed, or why performed. The convict can be a child who just stole a bag of chips from a supermarket. Will you send him to prison? The convicted person may be mentally unbalanced, which shouldn’t warrant the law to apply such harsh punishment.

Time also matters in applying laws. A law that was considered well suited in the past may not hold good for the present situation. For instance, in the past people were given life sentence in some very harsh ways, like crucifix or decapitation. Those types of punishments are considered inhuman at present times. Therefore, legislators are trying to make the punishments as less cruel as possible. Another thing we should consider are laws that are related to the economy. Economy is an ever changing aspect of the society. So laws should also cope with the economy so that it can be applied for the well being of the society.

Place should be considered in case of the application of laws. For example, tax laws should be different in different states or cities of a country considering the economic situation of the people living in that place. Otherwise, if there is the same tax all over the country, some people will suffer and some will benefit from it, which will harm economic equality.

So to conclude, laws should be unbiased, but also should be governed by situations.