It is considered by some people that learning a new language is only for travelling or working abroad, while there are others who believe the reasons for knowing a foreign language are innumerable. From my perspective, even though a majority of people study foreign languages in order to visit or work in overseas countries, it is not the only purpose to learn them.

Undeniably, the main reason for being multilingual is to explore different parts of the world or to have a better job in foreign nations. It is untenable that globalization has had a tremendous impact on the economy around the world, especially on the growth of multinational companies. Therefore, knowing another language apart from mother tongue can become a huge advantage for people to be a global citizen as well as expand their job opportunities, or simply acquire themselves some fundamental knowledge when communicating with natives while travelling, preventing them from awkward situations such as getting lost or unable to read the instructions.

However, it does not mean travelling and working are the only two factors that contribute to one’s motivation for learning a new language. Some learn it just because they are interested in the culture or customs of the country in which the language is spoken. Their curiosity about a different tradition or daily activities encourage them to learn that language. In addition, learning a foreign language can help people reach further education.Since not many materials found in college are written in different languages and many courses there have made such language qualifications compulsory, students are driven to improve their academic performance more to follow the studying pace. For example, in Vietnam, more and more universities have chosen English certificates as one of the requirements for admission to their education.

In conclusion, apart from being a useful tool while travelling as well as giving more opportunities in the labour market, there are many more purposes for an individual to learn a foreign language. In my opinion, spending time and effort to learn a new language may not always because of future career or tourism, it can simply be someone’s interest or loving towards the language itself.