In the recent era, we can see the influence of globalization in every sector, due to the fact the proliferation of learning foreign languages is increasing day by day. Some people believe that people learn due to the prospect in a job or for visiting places, while others think that knowing a language is not limited to these reasons, there are other causes behind this. In the following paragraphs, both views will be discussed and finally, I will give comment from my perspective.

On the one hand, it can not be denied by anyone that owing to globalization trade and businesses are expanding in every corner of the world. Therefore, many companies make their branches to other countries as a consequence local people have to learn overseas languages. For example, in Bangladesh according to the survey of an organization, there are 45 multinational companies and almost 2500 people working on these companies and many of them now know 2 or 3 languages. In addition, millions of travel enthusiast people are visiting many foreign countries to learn about the culture and traditions before traveling for commuting with the people they learn this language. For instance, more people are now interested in visiting China due to the variation of culture, as a result, the number of Chinese-speaking people is increasing.

On the other hand, because of the thirst for knowledge, people travel from one country to another country to study more on account of these people learning different languages. For example, every year millions of pupils attend the IELTS exam to study in English-speaking countries such as the UK, Canada, and so on. For this reason, they have to learn the English language to carry on their higher studies.

In conclusion, in contemporary times the importance of learning a foreign can not be described in words, to sum up, all the points above, I will go with the latter statement.